One Step Closer to Big Brother

Well this is interesting. According to ABC.com’s  Blotter a court ruling in a case against the Genovese crime family allows the FBI to use your cell phone as a hidden microphone.

Apparently, the technology, known as a “roving bug” let’s the FBI listen in to conversations using the microphone on a cell phone even when the phone is off. The only work around is removing the battery.

JerseyCool usually refrains from politics but this story gives us just a bit of the willies. Now, before everyone freaks out, the FBI still needs a court order to do this and generally as long as there’s a judge looking over law enforcement’s soldier I’m willing to grant them a little lattitude.

Readers of this space know that a solid 90 to 95 percent of what I write is pure hooey. That pretty much goes for my day-to-day conversations, so I don’t know how interested anyone, much less the FBI, would want to listen in on them. Still,  it’s easy to see how something like this could be misused.

Fortunatly for us Americans, with a competent, by the book President like George W. Bush that should never be a problem.

JC

3 Responses to “One Step Closer to Big Brother”

  1. JohnnyKid Says:

    By your comments, you are an obvious subversive. Probably an ACLU member. I will find out who you are and report you to the authorities. I hope you end up in Guantonamo Bay with the reest of the lowlifes.
    God Bless the USA!

  2. jerseycool Says:

    JohnnyKid,

    I think you’ve blown your chance at hosting Westchestercool.com when we expand north. Subversives need only apply,

    JC

  3. Derrick Says:

    Hey, if the court orders worked for a Jerseycool-style “competent” adulterer in office (adulterer of fat chicks, I might add), I’m sure this situation will be fine for a competent by-the-book president in office. I’ll just be sure to remove my battery when I’m….having a cigar!

Leave a Reply

